Prizes and scholarships

Best Paper Award 2014

Prof. Dr. med. Dennis Liem

(Head of Department for shoulder surgery and sports orthopaedics
Department of Orthopaedics and Tumour Orthopaedics University Hospital Münster)

Tendon morphology following rotator cuff repair – a comparative study of Single vs. Double Row Repair in a sheep model.


Best Paper Award 2015

Anne Thierbach

(Doctoral Student, Centre for Musculoskeletal Surgery, Charité Berlin)

Abduction/external rotation immobilisation versus arthroscopic stabilisation following primary traumatic anterior shoulder dislocation. Multicentre study by the DVSE – initial findings


Perthes Award 2015

Prof. Dr. med. univ. Philipp Moroder

(Assistant physician and acting chief scientist
Department of Traumatology and Sports Injuries, Salzburg)

Minimum twenty-year follow-up after open Bankart repair for the treatment of anterior shoulder instability without significant bony glenoid defect


Research funding 2015

Dr. med. Jörg Nowotny

(Assistant physician,
Department of Orthopedics and Traumatology, University Hospital Dresden)

Prospective, single-blind, randomised study to evaluate the clinical findings of operative subacromial decompression and conservative treatment of the subacromial impingements


Travelling Scholarship 2015

Dr. med. Gernot Seppel

(Assistant physician,
Department of Orthopedics and Traumatology, Krankenhaus Barmherzige Brüder, Munich)


Dr. med. Gunnar Jensen

(Assistant physician,
Department of Reconstructive and Trauma Surgery Diakoniekrankenhaus Friederikenstift gGmbH, Hannover)


Alwin Jäger Videoprize 2015

PD Dr. med. Jörn Kircher

(Senior physician, Shoulder and Elbow Surgery, Klinik Fleetinsel, Hamburg)

An alternative suture procedure for the refixation of lesions of the subscapularis tendon - the SCP interlocking (SICK) stitch


Jochen Löhr Prize 2015

David Merschin

(Assistant physician, 
Department of Foot and Ankle Surgery, Rummelsberg Hospital, Schwarzenbruck)

The proximal humerus fracture in older patients – Quality of life, Clinical results and Institutionalisation after Primary inverse fracture prosthesis


Ellbow Fellowship 2015

Dr. med. Kilian Wegmann

(Senior physician,
Department of Orthopedics and Traumatology, University Hospital Cologne)


Ellbow Science Award 2015

Dr. med. Marc Beirer

(Assistant physician,
Department of Trauma Surgery, Klinikum rechts der Isar, Technical University of Munich)

The Elbow Self-Assessment Score (ESAS) – Development and validation of a new patient-reported outcome measurement tool for elbow disorders